Fayemi honours six ex-deputy govs, others


Ekiti State Governor, Dr Kayode Fayemi, on Sunday conferred state honours on eminent indigenes for their contributions to the growth and development of the state.

The Oni Uyi Awards 2022, which is the second edition of the state honours to commemorate the creation of the state on October 1, 1996, was in different categories.

Fayemi, speaking at the well-attended event, described the recipients as “heroes and heroines of Ekiti State,” and charged them to see themselves as being honoured for their roles in the development of the state.

Recipients of Ekiti Exceptional Achievers, under the aegis of “Architects of the state”, included the wife of the Ewi of Ado Ekiti, Olori Abosede Adejugbe; and former federal civil servant, Chief Dapo Alibasoye.

The state governor also conferred EEA under the aegis of “Builders of Ekiti State” on former deputy governors, Dr. Sikiru Lawal, Prof Modupe Adelabu, Chief Abiodun Aluko, Senator Biodun Olujimi, Mr Adebisi Omoyemi, Prof Kolapo Olusola-Eleka and post-humously Mrs Olufunmilayo Adunni.

Recipients of Ekiti Exceptional Achievers Awards included former Nigeria Bar Association National Secretary, Dele Adesina, Catholic Bishop of Ekiti Diocese, Felix Ajakaye, and educationist, Dr Peter Ajayi.

Also, former heads of service in the state including Olufemi Adewumi, Olubunmi Famosanya, Ayodeji Ajayi, and Mrs Peju Babafemi, were conferred with Ekiti Meritorious Service awards.

Table tennis star, Miss Tosin Oribamise, female footballer, Adepeju Afuye, and award-winning photojournalist, Bayo Omoboriowo were among the recipients of the Ekiti Ambassador Award.

A former HoS, Adewumi, who spoke on behalf of the recipients, said, they appreciated the honours by the state government, promising that they would not take it for granted.

The award recipient described the honour as a charge to support and contribute their quota to ensure the sustained development of the state.

Earlier, the governor, whose tenure ends on October 15, received the report of the transition committee chaired by the Secretary to State Government, Foluso Daramola; saying the report would assist the incoming administration to have a seamless and smooth take-off in the overall interest of the people.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment