Nigeria records 1,601 yellow fever cases


The Nigeria Centre for Disease Control has reported a total of 1,601 suspected cases of yellow fever from 463 local government areas in 36 states of the federation and the Federal Capital Territory.

The cases were reported from January 1, 2022, to September 30, 2022.

According to the situation report obtained by our correspondent, on Wednesday, a total of 15 deaths were recorded from suspected cases in 10 of the states.

Yellow fever is an acute viral haemorrhagic disease transmitted by infected mosquitoes. The ‘yellow’ in the name refers to jaundice that affects some patients.

Symptoms of yellow fever include fever, headache, jaundice, muscle pain, nausea, vomiting and fatigue. A small proportion of patients, who contract the virus, develop severe symptoms and approximately half of them die within seven and 10 days.

The report read in part, “Cumulatively from January 1, 2022 – September 30, 2022, a total of 1,601 suspected cases have been reported from 463 LGAs in 36 states including the FCT.

“The cases were reported from the following states: Abia (48), Adamawa (21), Akwa Ibom (9), Anambra (94), Bauchi (81), Bayelsa (25), Benue (28), Borno (139), Cross River (41), Delta (10), Ebonyi (31), Edo (22), Ekiti (44), Enugu (67), FCT (7), Gombe (16), Imo (77), Jigawa (103), Kaduna (14), Kano (15), Katsina (107), Kebbi (33), Kogi (20), Kwara (29), Lagos (6), Nasarawa (27), Niger (27), Ogun (41), Ondo (74), Osun (22), Oyo (94), Plateau (70), Rivers (28), Sokoto (22), Taraba (51), Yobe (41) and Zamfara (17).

“Total of 15 presumptive positives and eight inconclusive results were recorded from the Nigeria Laboratory network.

“These presumptive positives were from UBTH Benin (3), MDH Abuja (2), CPHL Lagos (6), YDMH (2) and NRL Abuja (2). These were reported from Edo -1 (Egor), Cross River -1 (Akabuyo). Niger -1 (Suleja). Rivers-1 (Port-Harcourt), Taraba -1(Karim Lamido), Anambra -1 (Ogabaru), Sokoto-2 (Dange-shuni, Tambuwal), Ogun-1 (Ijebu East) Osun-1 (Atakunmosa East), Ondo-3 (Akure South), Ekiti-1 (Irepodun/Ifelodun), Kwara-1 (Kaiama). The inconclusive cases were reported from Oyo -1 (Olorunsogo) and Anambra-2 (Idemili South (1), Ayamelum (1) and Imo -2 (Nwangele (1), Ahiazu Mbaise (1)), Enugu -1 (Agwu (1), Ogun-1 (Ijebu Ode) and Osun -3 (Irewole (1). These samples have been shipped to IP Dakar for confirmation.

“Seven confirmed cases have been reported from IP Dakar from Anambra-2 [Idemili South (1), Ogbaru (1)], Imo -1 [Nwangele (1)], Ondo-1 [Akure South (1), Osun-2 [Atakunmosa East (1), Irewole (1)], Sokoto-1 [Dange-shuni (1)].

“Fifteen deaths recorded from suspected cases in Abia (1), Bayelsa (1), Benue (1), Imo (1), Kaduna (2), Katsina (2), Kebbi (1), Taraba (2), Yobe (1) and Zamfara (3) States [CFR = 1.0 per cent].

“Male-to-female ratio for suspected cases was 1.2:1 with males 871(54.4 per cent) and females 730(45.6 per cent).

“74 per cent of cases were predominantly aged 30 years and below.

“One hundred and seventy-four (11 per cent) of 1,601 suspected cases received at least one dose of the yellow fever vaccine

“The NCDC is coordinating response activities through the National Multi-agency Yellow Fever Technical Working Group.”

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment